PDS Board and Working Committee

The PDS Board and the Working Committee are responsible for the direction and implementation of the Professional Development Scheme.

The scheme recognises the effort and achievements of librarians in their continuous professional training and development effort. The award of “Practicing Professional (PP)” is given to librarians who have attained a prescribed level of training and professional development activities within a 2-year period. LAS will confer the award to individuals on the recommendation of the PDS Board and their names are published on this site with the expiry date in brackets.

PDS Board

Terms of reference

  1. Examine and approve PDS applications for endorsement by LAS Council
  2. Review and approve changes to the PDS scheme


  1. Puspa Yeow (Chairperson), Director, Temasek Polytechnic Library
  2. Choy Fatt Cheong
  3. Judy Ng, Director, National Library Board
  4. Kamaludeen Mohamed Rafi, Deputy Director, Singapore Polytechnic Library
  5. Kan Sok Cheng, Deputy University Librarian, National University of Singapore
  6. Carol Sim Soek Cheng, Senior Director, Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts Library
  7. Zubaidah Mohsen, Senior Librarian, National Library Board
  8. Loh Hui Hong (Secretary), Librarian, Temasek Polytechnic Library

Contact: pds@las.org.sg

PDS Working Committee

Terms of reference

  1. Manage the submission process for PDS applications
  2. Examine PDS applications and check for award eligibility
  3. Advise applicants on details of their submission and suggest revisions
  4. Prepare list of applications for examination by PDS Board
  5. Manage PDS website


  1. Mr Choy Fatt Cheong (Chairperson)
  2. Ms Kim-Chew Ah Too, Head, Library Assessment, Communication & Human Resource, NUS Libraries
  3. Ms Veronica Boudville, Deputy Director, National Library Board
  4. Ms Ong Juey Ming (Secretary), Senior Assistant Director, Nanyang Technological University
  5. Ms Phoebe Lim, Assistant Director, Nanyang Technological University
  6. Mr Kannadasan Venkatachalam, Assistant Director, Nanyang Technological University