Librarian News

Submissions by librarians, member news.

In Memoriam: Ajita Thuraisingham Lewis, 1946-2007

Mrs Ajita Lewis nee Thuraisingham, passed away peacefully on 25 May, 2007. Those of you who knew her will remember her as an active member of LAS. The next few articles are contributions from fellow librarians who remember her fondly.


The LAS-YBP Award is given to recognize the contribution by a librarian in collection development or technical services which include acquisitions, cataloguing and serials management.  It also aims at providing an opportunity for the librarian to increase professional knowledge and experience through research or to present papers at conferences.   We are pleased to announce the …

LAS-YBP Award Read More »

LAS members sponsored for Conference

LAS sponsored Fiona Kwan, a LAS member, to attend the LAS Conference.  Legal Library Services offered sponsorship to support the Special Libraries Section and to encourage new membership. Ms Noraishah Shaharuddin, Library Executive from the Civil Service, was the lucky winner out of the new members who joined in December 2006. Congratulations to Fiona and Noraishah!