LAS Overseas Professional Development Sponsorship

In 2010, the Library Association of Singapore set aside a limited amount of funds for personal members to enjoy a subsidy to attend an overseas library conference. These professional development events include conferences and other learning opportunities held overseas. The aim of this sponsorship is to encourage professional growth and to increase the knowledge of our library community.

The Association has been fortunate to have sufficient funds to continue to award this sponsorship.

Amount of Award

The award consisting of a subsidy of up to S$2,000 can be used to cover conference registration, travel, and accommodation for the conference duration. The recipient of the award will be required to show proof of conference attendance and expenses incurred during the conference. All agreed outcomes will be completed before the recipient is reimbursed.


An applicant must be an active personal member in LAS.

Procedures and Deadline for Award Applications

Applicants may apply for the award at any time before 31 March, however, it is strongly recommended that applicants apply as early as possible, since decisions on the awards are made on a rolling basis beginning September. Complete the form and submit it by mail or e-mail.

Administration of Award

The award will be administered by the LAS Awards Panel and selection will be based on the information provided on the application. The award will be made available for conferences taking place during October to end of April of the following year. The award may be given out any time during this period.

Required Outcomes

A recipient must attend the conference by 30 April. He/she will be required to share his/her experience and new knowledge gained at the conference, with LAS members by 31 July through the following:

  • Submitting an article to the Singapore Library Bulletin and
  • Conducting a sharing session at a LAS Talk, or
  • Any other way proposed by the recipient and accepted by the LAS Awards Panel

Past Recipients

2018 – Jenny Wong

2017 – Pattarin Kusolpalin

2016 – Chow Chai Khim

2015 – Feng Yi Kang

2014 – Carol Sim

2012 – Foo Soo Chin

2010 – Tint Hla Hla Htoo